Friday, 28 December 2018 15:58 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altIt's just been announced that the Grammy organization – the Recording Academy – is to celebrate the work and career of ARETHA FRANKLIN with a special, star-studded tribute show. The Queen of Soul won an unprecedented 18 Grammy awards and Neil Portnow, President/CEO of the Recording Academy said: "Aretha Franklin's reign as the Queen of Soul is incomparable and undisputed. For more than six decades, her extraordinary artistic achievements coupled with her passionate dedication to her philanthropic work—which ranged from children's and artists' issues to civil rights activism—served as a testament to her power, majesty, and genius. These gifts positioned her as a true cultural icon, and the Recording Academy is honoured to celebrate her inspirational legacy."

The live concert will be taped on Sunday, Jan. 13, 2019, at 6 p.m. PT at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. The special will be broadcast later in 2019 on the CBS Television Network and amongst the performers will be Yolanda Adams, Shirley Caesar, Alessia Cara, Kelly Clarkson, Common, Celine Dion, Jennifer Hudson, Alicia Keys, John Legend, Patti LaBelle, BeBe Winans and Janelle Monáe,

Last Updated on Friday, 28 December 2018 16:08



Friday, 28 December 2018 15:47 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altOne of 2018's big success stories has been the rise and rise of BRIAN POWER'S SOULHOUSE label and now at year end BP celebrates with a new retrospective album..... '2018 SOULHOUSE REMIXED'.

The 13 tracker rounds up 13 of Brian's big tunes and (as the title implies) offers them in new, subtle remixes... some of which have never been available before. The album, though, is download only... but it's out now,



Sunday, 23 December 2018 14:45 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altLast time we heard from soulful house diva TASHA LARAE was back in the spring when she fronted a fab cover of Teena Marie's 'I Need Your Lovin''. The cut was masterminded by DJ Spen (using the alias Spencer Morales... John Morales was in there too) and now Spen and Tash have got together for a new anthem that will have you boppin' the New Year in!

The new song is simply 'Ready' and it comes in tasty R&B and dance mixes. Jay Kutz, by the way, produced and co-wrote the original waxing and the whole kit and caboodle is out now via Quantize.

Last Updated on Sunday, 23 December 2018 14:49



Saturday, 22 December 2018 16:50 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altSUGARAY RAYFORD is a Texas-born blues and soul man who impressed proper soul fans with his 2017 long player 'The World That We Live In'. The album was chock full of old school soul values – passion, fire and commitment and it was obvious that Mr R had been reared in the church... his vocals betrayed his time with the Texan Inspirational Youth Choir.

Right now Sugaray is preparing a new album – 'Somebody Save Me' - set for a release to tie in with his January UK tour. The first single has just been released and 'The Revelator' proffers all the same old school values as the 'The World That We Live In' album. The tune is soulful with a blues undertow and there's just a hint of malice about proceedings – the same delicious evil that people like Howlin' Wolf perfected during the golden age of Chess Records.

Find out more about SUGARAY RAYFORD via our 2017 in depth interview in the interview archive.

Last Updated on Saturday, 22 December 2018 17:04



Friday, 21 December 2018 14:24 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF


NIGEL WADDINGTON is a London-based arranger/composer and his latest release is a 6 track mini album... 'Beautiful City'. The EP features some of the capital's top session payers like Stewart Curtis, George Hogg, Trevor Mires, and Gabriel Keen while the three vocals tracks are handled by Ian Shaw and Vanessa Hayes. Ms Hayes is out front on a respectful and lush cover of 'Walk On By' where sweet strings takes the place of the familiar brass stabs and on the album's title track – a song by Stephen Schwarz which after a bleak opening gains momentum. Much more "up", of course, is a jazzy take on ' Stayin' Alive' on which Ian Shaw takes lead on a sort of 'Moondance' arrangement.

Amongst the instrumentals is a big version of Gershwin's 'American In Paris' while the two Waddington originals are 'Step Away From The Vehicle' and a ten minute plus 'Carnival De Toledo'.

NIGEL WADDINGTON'S 'Beautiful City' is out now on Cala Records

Last Updated on Friday, 21 December 2018 18:43


Page 7 of 692



My Account

To comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.