Friday, 09 August 2019 14:10 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altDespite the cancelation of this weekend's Newquay Boardmasters Festival, new age soul man MICHAEL FRANTI and his SPEARHEAD band will still be appearing at London's Jazz Cafe next week 12 & 13 August.

Franti will highlighting songs from his recent album 'Stay Human Vol. II' (see our archive for more details) and you can get more show details from venue.



Thursday, 08 August 2019 18:44 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altThe RICK CLARKE AND DON E tune, 'Friends' has been one of THE big summer tunes... it just refuses to go away. And just when you thought it was safe to go back into the water – it's back again! This time in a four track remix EP... you get a '4 On The Floor', a 'dub' tweak, a 'Masters of St Soul' mix and a reggae infused 'basherment' offering.

Not a lot to choose between them – they all have their own infectious vibe. To confuse matters, the Fatback Band sampled 'Wicky Waki' mix is also now officially available. Call me old fashioned but I still prefer the original mix which sampled the ever gorgeous  Lou Rawls' 'You'll Never Find Another Love Like Mine', but as we say long and oft – you pays your money....

Last Updated on Thursday, 08 August 2019 18:51



Thursday, 08 August 2019 18:39 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altThe wonderfully named CYRILLE THE ANGEL is an aspiring performer from Johannesburg, South Africa. He's currently busy promoting his latest single 'I Promised Baby' - a peculiar and unique sound. The song is mainly a spoken word piece – not quite a rap; Cyrille's rhymes run in front of an eerie and atmospheric backing track that has a hypnotic feel to it. Despite its unusual sound the origins are clearly South African. Out now.



Thursday, 08 August 2019 18:35 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altFELTON PILATE – the lead singer with Con Funk Shun – has just released a solo single – a catchy – 'We're Still Here'. It's a busy, bustling, brassy beater with a hint of classic EWF and, naturally, prime time Con Funk Shun. The cut is already winning airplay and no word as to whether Mr P is breaking away from the band or just fancying a solo moment. Out now



Wednesday, 07 August 2019 17:53 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altAustralia's premier funk and soul band, THE BAMBOOS have just launched their latest album and the ten tracker that is 'By Special Arrangement' is proving to be one of their most interesting projects yet. You see the band (mustered as ever by soul multi tasker Lance Ferguson) have been in business for 20 years and the call seemed to be to put out a "best of" or a "greatest hits" package. However Mr F decided to try something rather different. With the rest of the boys he's picked ten of their most loved songs and re-invented them. No – they're not "new" mixes – they're new recordings with most of the tunes set in fresh and challenging string, woodwind and brass arrangements. (These very "special arrangements" by the way are down to Bamboos' trumpeter Ross Irwin).

The new arrangements veer between the cinematic and the classically soulful and the vocalists will be familiar to fans of the band – people like Dan Sultan, Tim Rogers and Megan Washington. Pride of place, though, goes to the Bamboos' most regular collaborator – Kylie Auldist. She fronts 6 songs – two of which are covers.... Sam Brown's 'Stop' and London Grammar's 'Strong'. Her outstanding contribution though (and clear album highlight) is the gorgeous new treatment of 'I Don't Wanna Stop'. Here she does what she does best – simply caresses the lyric with an understated soulfulness. I defy you to find a better summery vibe this year!

The Bamboos' 'By Special Arrangement' is out now and cleverly the cover image (pictured above) shows shreds of their previous album covers brought together to create a new object.... exactly what this record is!


Page 4 of 761



My Account

To comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.