Sunday, 09 September 2018 18:07 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altA new name to us, RONNETTE HARRISON, we're told is a music multi tasker.... recording artist, radio personality, vocalist, pianist, composer, songwriter, piano instructor and vocal coach. Working in and around Washington DC, she started in the music biz aged just 11 when she worked with Shirley Ables & The Joy Gospel Singers. Since then she's worked constantly in the gospel area, picking up numerous awards en route. Her first solo album, 'Journey' cemented her position on the gospel circuit and she's currently working on a follow up.

From that upcoming sophomore set, the single 'Always There' is winning plenty of airplay on the gospel stations stateside and it's sweet, modern soul vibe has huge crossover potential. You see the song and its message – though, yes, gospel-based – has a meaning that can be applied to secular relationships and situations too. It's a lovely tune and well worth seeking out.

Last Updated on Sunday, 09 September 2018 18:18



Sunday, 09 September 2018 18:03 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altOur spies tell us that the lovely MARSHA AMBROSIUS is gearing up to release a new album..... due very soon. In the meantime, US radio is awash with the lead single – a solid soul groove , 'Luh Ya'. Complex but simple, soft and soulful it has a lovely, elegant feel and Ms A shows again that she's a class act, understanding, perhaps better than many of her US counterparts, what modern soul is all about.



Sunday, 09 September 2018 18:00 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

alt'It Must Be Love' is the latest single from Londoner/Barbadian WHITFIELD BATSON. Putting aside his music management/song writing/acting roles a few years back, he's now pursuing a singing career.

His recent releases 'Put That Love On Me' and 'Do Me Good' won him plenty of admirers and 'It Must Be Love' follows a similar soundscape to those tunes. That's to say, it's poppy and catchy and Whitfield delivers a convincing vocal. Sadly the backing track is a little thin and synthetic and doesn't do full justice to the song. It's out now and your usual download portal will allow investigation.



Saturday, 08 September 2018 18:08 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altAUDREY POWNE is an Australian singer best known for fronting a band intriguingly named Leisure Centre. Right now, though, the Melbourne-based Audrey is focused on promoting her soon-to-be-available EP. From it the lead track –a gorgeous 'Flowers' – is already getting huge support from tastemakers like Jeff Young and Tony Blackburn.

The cut is hugely cinematic ... lush, sweeping strings embrace Ms P's innocent and naive (yet convincing vocal) and though it's quite "different" it has huge appeal.... one listen and you'll be hooked!

Audrey says the inspiration for the song was her mum: "My mum told me once when I was younger to 'never trust a man who gives you flowers' they're probably trying to get away with something. It seemed incredibly cynical at the time until as a young woman I found myself bombarded with Red Roses from a boyfriend who repeatedly cheated on me. It was one of those moments where I thought MAYBE my mum was right."

Well done mum! It's a great song and augers well for the upcoming New York recorded EP.... Leisure Centre has new music on the way too. More of that one soon.

Last Updated on Saturday, 08 September 2018 18:16


OH LORI.....

Saturday, 08 September 2018 18:02 Bill Buckley E-mailPrintPDF

altThough she's new name to us (and I guess to most of you) LORI WILLIAMS is something of a music biz veteran with a range of skills -acclaimed international Jazz vocalist, educator, songwriter, producer and musical theatre actress.

Ms Williams is not bothered for us to know that she's just celebrated her 50th birthday and she's celebrating the milestone with a new album – a lovely collection of proper grown up music that she's called 'Out Of The Box'... named for one of the LP's key songs and a statement that with the album she's showing  she can work "out of the box" that people often pop her in... In her case the jazz "box". Sure on the album there are plenty of classy jazz workouts – like the versions of ''Round Midnight' and 'Little Girl Blue'... the title cut is a cool jazzy offering too. However, the album bristles with plenty of sophisticated, elegant modern soul music that will recall the very best offerings of people like Anita Baker.

Indeed the album was heralded by a single that paired two such cuts – the groove-laden 'I Like The Way You Talk To Me' and a great cover of the Isaac Hayes-penned Dionne Warwick hit, 'Déjà Vu'. That latter is currently garnering plenty of air play on the best soul and jazz stations. Little wonder, it's a mini masterpiece of sophisticated soul with fab interplay between Lori's sensuous vocals and album collaborator Bob Baldwin's sparkling keys. The slinky ballad, 'Our Love Is Real' is another album highlight. Watch out too for the big collaboration that is 'Where's That Smile' with vocal cameos from amongst others Will Downing and Maysa

'Out Of The Box' is Lori Williams' fourth solo long player and it comes highly recommended. Of the set, the singer says: "When you reach the milestone of 50, many things begin to cross your mind. 'Out Of The Box' is a deliberate breakaway from me being stereotyped as 'Lori only does this' – this being Straight Ahead Jazz. For me to be recognized and respected within that music has been quite an accomplishment; but there is more to me. 'Out Of The Box' is a Neo-Soul Jazz project. When I hear my voice on these new songs, it's a sound I really like. It's feel good music with catchy lyrics that people can remember and walk away singing."alt

Last Updated on Saturday, 08 September 2018 18:19


Page 3 of 652



My Account

To comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.